That’s just dumb


So you may have read the other day about my Friday school being the first mob since I’ve been working at an elementary (primary) school as a native English (ESL) teacher to actually ask the native English teacher which English as a Second Language textbook might be best for the students.

You know, ’cause what would a native English speaker with more than six years teaching experience, and with a background in journalism know about English usage, right?

Anyway, I inquired at my Monday-to-Thursday school today as to whether they were also choosing one of six textbooks to replace the current textbooks for grades five and six next year.

Oh, yes. A committee had been formed that would be convening on Thursday.

Did someone who speaks at least reasonable, passing English set up the committee?

No.

Is the native English speaker on the committee?

No.

At best this is really dumb.

I’m the one with the most free time (by far) everyday to actually peruse the slated textbooks properly.

And whilst I don’t question the other Korean English teachers’ teaching ability, I certainly do question their English ability (apart from one who has really good English).

They’re paying me all this money to do a pretty easy day’s work, and they’re paying a premium precisely because I’m a native speaker, an invaluable resource to have in the classroom, and frankly, they could be getting a lot more win for their won if they wanted to.

It’s bad enough they’re already underutilising this resource by sticking it in front of the younger classes whilst teachers with less-than-perfect English speaking ability are put in front of the older, more advanced classes.

It’s like if my car breaks down, do I chat to my mechanic or my favourite DJ?

Do you drive F1 cars around parking lots and push shopping trolleys around racetracks?

    • The Wizard of WOZ
    • September 20th, 2011

    Committee. ‘Nuff said.

    • Winston Smith
    • September 21st, 2011

    Never under estimate, bingers, the depth of human stupidity…

  1. October 8th, 2011

Surely you're thinking something...

