Andrew Bolt: the man behind the machine


Certainly not the hatchett job Anne Summers did, John van Tiggelen takes a look “behind the scenes” of Australia’s favourite columnist and blogger.

Seven days before Justice Mordecai Bromberg finds him guilty of racial vilification in the Federal Court, I turn up at Andrew Bolt’s house, for dinner. Bolt is cooking. He cooks like I cook, the Dutch way. Lots of flavour, lots of everything, and anything but Dutch. On the kitchen bench are two salads, one Greek and one FNQ (prawn, mango and avocado). There is a Sicilian pasta for entrée, beef bourguignon for main. Dessert is on me: I’ve asked my mother to bake some gevulde speculaaskoek, a traditional cinnamon-spiced slice with a marzipan-like filling. Unlike almost everything else in Dutch cuisine, it is to die for, not from, although my mother appeared to have other ideas.

“I’ll put poison in it,” she said, when told for whom it was intended.

Read on.

    • elsie
    • November 21st, 2011

    Thanks for that on twitter, bingbing! So Andrew writes columns for “lowbrows…week after week”…..What condescending rubbish!

    (My twitter name is certoscio2….I mainly use it for news and political updates.. I think I have about 33 followers, (mostly of the highest brows of course! …..except for Julia) 🙂

    • mabba
    • November 21st, 2011

    John van T. still didn’t explain why his mother hates Bolt or why he brought the red from the judge’s estate- a wolf in sheep’s clothing, I’d say. With friends like that, who needs enemies…lots of interesting bio info however; would only trust the simple facts (eg dates of schools attended) not the interpretations.

    • Carpe Jugulum
    • November 21st, 2011

    When we have guests lady Jugs does Japanese smally eats, (Takoyaki, onogiri etc) she does a fruit salad you would kill for and i do big lumps of dead animal on the BBQ and a salad of weeds & squid (we meet half way on that) with lime juice as a dressing.

    If Bolts friends Mother (whew) can’t get her head around friends enjoying good company and food then it says more about what shallow person she is than friends enjoying a meal and good company.

    And a good red, 🙂

    And hot Saki & conversation. Life is good 🙂

    • Merilyn
    • November 21st, 2011

    What a strange comment from the mother. Does anyone else get the impression that there is a concerted effort to close Bolt down.

      • Carpe Jugulum
      • November 21st, 2011

      Evening Meryln, I would say that the mother of Bolts friend has a mindset that will not budge regardless of the information she gets.

      She has a delusion facts won’t fix.

  1. I don’t think van Thingy is Bolt’s friend, but rather another journo/author of sorts.

    There was some obvious bias to cut through, but regardless I thought the piece was pretty fair.

  2. Hi,
    I missed seeing this in the paper, thanks for putting this up.
    I thought it was a rather good article. I didn’t read the article that Summers wrote in The Monthly, only read what others had to say about different parts, but from what I heard about the article that Summers wrote, this article from the Sydney Morning Herald was more truthful, and better written, I heard that Summers didn’t even interview Bolt.

    • She didn’t.

    • Sean of Deer Park
    • November 21st, 2011

    Not really all that insightful for regular readers of Bolta. Quite off the mark in some of the authors assumptions; for instance, “I have little doubt that Bolt truly believes he is always right”, well no, I wouldn’t think that of Bolta. Maybe I’m reading that sentence the wrong way? I have little doubt that Bolt truly believes he is always, justified! I’d also think the man is happy to listen to another point of view to try and understand the debate at hand. Bolta doesn’t offend me when I don’t agree with him. He just annoys me ever so slightly.

    An interesting read, though. Cautiously written so as to seem fair in a hard left environ. Reading between the lines, I’d insist it was bias and wouldn’t call this fellow Bolt’s, friend. 😆

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Surely you're thinking something...

