I wonder if you can still do this back home


The school year is almost finished for the kids over here in Korea, tests are done, and so for the last two weeks, amongst preparing for the school’s Open Day on Saturday, the kids in English (ESL) class have been learning a few Christmas jingles (such as this one).

Not that yours truly has an issue with a bit of harmless fun like that being done in schools, but being from the modern-day West I had to ask: “Is this OK to do when only about 25% of the population is Christian, 25% is buddhist and the rest are nothing?”

Not that it was my idea in the first place to do it – it was a co-teacher’s – and not that I had any problem whatsoever hearing the kids sing a happy tune about a happy time (it melts your heart, serious), but having grown up in an ever-more progressive society, I still had to ask.

Answer?

Na, it’s just a fun song everybody likes. It doesn’t matter whether they’re Christian or not or whether their family observes Christmas. It’s just a fun thing to do.

How refreshing.

Everyone likes Christmas.

And who in hell wouldn’t?

It reminded me of when I celebrate Chinese or lunar new year over here, or Korean thanksgiving.

Both are based on the lunar calendar and are both originally buddhist festivals.

But why not have a bit of fun? It’s a great way to experience the joys of culture.

    • J.M. Heinrichs
    • December 15th, 2011

    Over the weekend past, I introduced my nephews to a variant “Jingle Bells”, which I think was brought to school this week:

    “Jingle bells, shotgun shells.
    Santa Claus is dead.
    Someone stole my .22
    And shot him in the head.”

    Cheers

    • 🙂

  1. December 15th, 2011

Surely you're thinking something...

