New theme… again


To be honest, I really liked the old one but a few people have said the writing was a bit difficult to read, a bit too light. Is this new theme a little easier on the eyes?

  1. Hi,
    Wow, sexy black, I do like this. 🙂

    But really any theme is good, as long as you are happy with it, that matters as well. 😀

    • I like this theme, too, and if it’s easier for people reading the blog, then that’s great. I do like how it fits the whole screen unlinke the old one unless you hit CTRL+.

    • Sean of Deer Park
    • February 7th, 2012

    Yep. This is great Binger’s. The letters in comments were a little Grey against the White background. Especially late at night with the lights off. (The Whites are so bright on these new plasma screens)

    This format looks good and is easy to read. (I’m considering getting glasses as I now find I get a headache after a while on most Blogs. Getting old is a bitch!) 😆

    An early computer fact. Back in the Seventies and Eighties, computer screens were pretty simple, with a black background and either Green or Amber text. The combination was simply the result of studies that had proved this is the easiest colour-set on the eyes, after long periods looking at the screen up close. You might like to consider Amber and Green as a text colour in future for some of the text.

    Another format trick when using White as a text colour; is to make it “blocked” or “proportionally spaced” (like when you read a novel). This format tends to make the text easier to read. These days, Microsoft call this format “Justified” text.

    In the end. Your Blog, your choice. (Note to all, I didn’t complain to BB, this is just my observation)

    A tip for other readers:
    Hit “Ctrl” + “F11” to make the blog take over the entire screen (Full Screen mode). I always do this, I find it helps to concentrate on what you’re doing by removing all the background busyness on the desktop. Repeat function to make it go away.

    • Yeah, I remember playing King’s Quest on those old monochrome monitors. Not sure if I want this theme quite as retro, though.

      And no, it wasn’t Sean. It was Mum, and I just, er, guessed she isn’t the only one here with OLD EYES.

      Also, I found using Firefox rather than explorer made the old theme a bit easier on the eyes with all that white and grey.

      Anyway, said it before but, I like how this one fits the width of the screen, and it’s a bit easier to navigate IMO.

    • Merilyn
    • February 7th, 2012

    Very nice bing, like the way the comment button goes red so it is easy to see.

    • The Wizard of WOZ
    • February 8th, 2012

    Love the change. Although I think I’m nearing the spectacles stage myself.

    At least its not like staring into a light bulb…

    • Cheers, mate. Glad you like it.

  2. You know what they say…once you go black, you never go back.

    Thumbs up on the new look. It suits you.

    • Thanks, bud. It suits me, lol? Do I really come across as that dark and mysterious?

      (Don’t answer that.)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Surely you're thinking something...

