Weekend open thread


What’s on your mind?

Oh, and here’s a random cool pic.

Thanks to TinEye, I was able to find that it’s by a bloke called Stephen Wilkes. More of his work can be found here.

UPDATE

Also: http://hotair.com/archives/2012/02/11/black-female-conservative-congressional-candidate-mia-love-conventional-wisdom-says-i-dont-exist/

    • Sean of Deer Park
    • February 11th, 2012

    I was watching some DVD’s yesterday. Catching up on some I wanted to see but haven’t had the chance. If you haven’t yet seen them, have a look at:

    War Horse – not bad [7/10]
    The Help – loved it, even though the story is now history and seems a bit “woe-is-me” for today. Great cast and good acting. [8/10]
    What’s your Number – A bit funny (romantic comedy) but made me feel like a total slut! πŸ˜† [6/10]
    Colombiana – Over the top story. [6/10]
    Crazy, Stupid, Love – As the title suggests, but entertaining and occasionally funny [7/10]

    PS. No asprin, but I find Panadeine Forte works wonders.

    • Sean of Deer Park
    • February 11th, 2012

    This is one pissed off Dad! πŸ˜†

    • Awesome. Saw that somewhere, can’t remember where. Not the clip, but the news report… I think. Just two weeks into my booze-only-on-Friday-and-Saturday New Deal and, shit, the stuff hits ya for six.

    • UPDATE

      http://www.litefm.com/pages/news-story.html?feed=421220&article=9744152

        • Sean of Deer Park
        • February 12th, 2012

        An entertaining thread really. Says a lot about the Lefist mind-set; on a number of levels. A massive generalisation, I know. But…

        Who the hell do all the complaintents to his lesson think they are? I’d agree, posting the video online was asking for trouble. A video made for his own child, family and friends, is now in the public domain. Dad has now also learnt a lesson, although he seems quite capable of handling the fallout. I think, Dad, has inadvertantly taught not only his daughter but also many other parents; to instill respect as a matter of importance. Good on him.

        I love that the Lefties are so up in arms, pardon the pun. I’ll bet most of them have no sense of moral values, were dragged up themselves, and have no idea what it is like to discipline a teenager (It’s not for the faint hearted, let me assure you). Teenagers are a handful. I remember being one myself and causing all sorts of strife for my parents at the time. πŸ˜†

        Thank goodness my parents were loving enough and hard enough, to make sure I didn’t cause anyone any grief and enshrin the vitues of always being polite to others (I’d note here, I never got “the smack”, not ever).

        Meanwhile, for example, police in Sydney last night detained a dozen or so young teenages on the streets in various states of shame last night. I’ll bet the type of people complaining about this Dad are the same types that don’t know where their own kids are tonight., that is, if they even have any children.
        ref: http://www.news.com.au/national/sydney-police-tell-parents-to-take-responsibility-after-round-up-of-drunk-drugged-kids/story-e6frfkvr-1226268809397

        PS: Whitney Housten is dead!
        http://www.news.com.au/entertainment/music/whitney-houston-dead-aged-48-report/story-e6frfn09-1226268872564

        • Sean of Deer Park
        • February 12th, 2012

        Houston, that is… Sad the lady couldn’t get her shit together.

    • mabba
    • February 11th, 2012

    Nerves stretched taut with looming state election – flood inquiry might yet let govt. off hook; Kate Jones (all ads bedecked in pale pink, not ALP red) might yet beat Cam Newman in Ashgrove; Anna all over the state on govt. money reprising brownie pts for the floods – & Juliar remains teflon coated, even with Chris Uhlman on ABC getting stuck into her ; will we never get a reprieve federally?

    • I can’t believe those pretentious pricks in Ashgrove are potentially gonna stuff it up for the entire state (inner city wannabes). If you know anyone in Ashgrove, folks, let.them.know.

      Now, I’m in no position to do a vox pops in Australia, but is Juliar really still teflon coated???

      I actually watched – online – Uhlman’s interview with Gingerella, and, whilst I might sound like an asshole saying this, I kinda feel sorry for her (not sorry enough to want her booted the hell out of Office, but still…).

      Every bit of anecdotal evidence I’ve seen categorically emphasises what a fun, friendly person she is.

      And yet this PM role has poisoned her in a sense.

    • πŸ˜† From back when it was Kevni oh sevni…

    • Merilyn
    • February 11th, 2012

    This would have to be the best sentences I have read this week.

    “Wyatt Roy was kicked out of QT this week by Slipper. His sin? Asking Gillard when Labor last delivered a budget surplus”, [Gab on Catallaxy Files].

    • Second time Wyatt’s asked that question. Goose made a fool of himself with his answer the first time; now it’s Slipper’s turn.

    • The Wizard of WOZ
    • February 12th, 2012

    β€œI’m a product of parents who came with $10 in their pockets when they legally immigrated to the United States, became citizens, never took a handout and were able to put three kids through school,” she explains. β€œAnd you know what they were grateful for? They were grateful for opportunities. [My dad] was so happy to work and be able to keep a little of what he had.” – From the last link.

    This is eerily close to my parents. They came to Australia not the states, and they did have a few dollars to their name, but they passed that exact outlook and attitude on to me. Something I am eternally grateful for.

    Camping outside the stock exchange and saying nasty things about rich people will not stop someone who has more to gain from wanting to work harder than you. They will earn more because they deserve it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Surely you're thinking something...

